Social Security Disability Programs

The Social Security Administration is governed by a complex set of rules and regulations.  The following is only a guide.  There are four disability programs offered by the SSA.  You may be eligible for one of the following: 

Disability Insurance Benefits (OR DIB)

You must be fully insured, meet the disability criteria for disabled workers 

Disabled Widow or Widowers Benefits

You must meet the marriage requirements, be at least 50 to 59 years old, meet disability criteria within 7 years of the spouse's death.  The deceased spouse must have been fully insured. 

Disabled Adult-Child Disability Benefits

You must show your disability began before you turned 22, one parent must receive benefits from social security or one parent must be deceased and fully insured at death 

Supplemental Security Income Disability Benefits

You must meet the disability criteria and income must be below the established limits